
Utah Newborn Screening
Detect and minimize or prevent common disorders

About
Newborn Screening identifies conditions that can
affect a child’s long-term health, development or
survival. Early detection, diagnosis, and
intervention can prevent death or disability and
enable children to reach their full potential.

Every state in the U.S. has a newborn screening
program that screens newborns for many
treatable congenital conditions. Since the
symptoms of these serious conditions do not
always appear at birth, early detection is
lifesaving.  

Utah Newborn Screening screens for more than
40 disorders, as well as screens for hearing loss
and critical congenital heart disease (CCHD). 

Newborn Screening
Types of

Infants are screened for hearing loss before they are
discharged from a hospital after birth. There are two
tests that may be used to screen a baby’s hearing:
Otoacoustic Emissions (OAEs) or Automated
Auditory Brainstem Response (AABR). Both of these
tests are safe and do not hurt. Newborn hearing
screening is very important as undetected hearing
loss can affect brain development.

Hearing Screening

Critical congenital heart disease (CCHD) refers to a
problem with a structure of the heart or the blood
flow through the heart. CCHDs can be detected
through a quick, safe, and painless test called pulse
oximetry. Pulse oximetry measures how much
oxygen is in the blood - a low oxygen level is a
common sign of CCHD. 

CCHD Screening

Infants born in Utah have blood collected twice-
once at 24-48 hours after birth, and again at the two
week child care appointment, between 7-16 days
after birth. 

Bloodspot (Heel stick)

Completing both tests is critical to correctly
identifying these treatable disorders. Blood is
obtained by a small heel prick. The blood is collected
on a screening card which is sent to the Utah
Department of Health and Human Service’s Public
Health Laboratory.

Newborn Screening



What happens to stored bloodspots?

Newborn bloodspots (NBS) are stored in a secure walk-in freezer separated from identifying demographic
information. After 7 years, the sample is destroyed by incineration. Bloodspot cards are kept for these
reasons:

Parental consent for bloodspot storage
A consent must be signed by the parent or guardian indicating what they wish the newborn screening
program to do with their child’s bloodspot sample.

If you DO consent to retention:
Newborn screening testing will be
completed and the bloodspot cards will be
kept in a secure place for up to 7 years.

You can change your mind at any time.
Please contact the Newborn Screening
program at 801-584-8256 for details.

If you DO NOT consent to retention:
Utah law requires newborn screening
testing to be collected and completed.

Newborn Screening program will keep the
sample for 90 days to ensure no further
testing is needed and then will destroy the
sample. The sample will not be available for
any future use to screen late-onset concerns
such as congenital cytomegalovirus (cCMV).

If your child needs more testing in the future for a diagnosed health condition. Your consent will
always be requested before doing any tests.
To improve current testing procedures or develop new tests for other diseases.
Quality control and assurance
If you consent to using your child’s blood sample for research on newborn screening diagnosis and
treatment. Your child’s blood sample will never be used for research without your consent. 

If the CCHD screening identifies that your baby has low oxygen, the health care provider will order
additional testing. A common test is an ultrasound of the heart, or echocardiogram, to check the
structure and blood flow of the heart.

After the heel stick, the baby’s health care provider will be called if the test is abnormal. An abnormal
result does not mean your baby has a disorder. Additional testing is necessary.

What happens after a newborn is screened?

If your baby fails their hearing screening, it does not mean there is hearing loss, but further testing is needed
and will need to be rescreened before 10 days of age. If your baby fails the second screen, they need to 1) be
tested for congenital cytomegalovirus (cCMV) infection before 21 days of age and 2) get a diagnostic hearing
evaluation by a pediatric audiologist as soon as possible.

For more information visit: familyhealth.utah.gov/newborn-screening


